Cultural Bias in Picture Books: Expository Writing

Make sure to click on the MPSD Destiny SSO Button to log into your Destiny account.  Hint:  Logging into your Google account first makes it much easier to sign into your Destiny Account.

ALL DATABASES ARE PASSWORD PROTECTED.

CLICK HERE FOR LOGIN IDs AND PASSWORDS

Databases searchable individually or through Destiny

Remember when using Destiny to search you can save your materials you find in your Personal Lists so you can come back the them later.

• Access Science
• Badgerlink
• Culturegrams
• Global Issues in Context

• Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

• Teen Health and Wellness

• World Book Online

Databases searchable individually only

• CQ Researcher : Covers the Leading Issues most studied and debated by students.

• Discovery Education : Contains informative videos, video clips, and information for all subjects. 

• Questia : Highly academic database that contains over 87,000 full text books, 732 academic journals, 266 magazines, 46 newspapers and 435 peer reviewed  periodicals.  Allows you to save and annotate your research.

Know Your Sources

Primary Sources vs. Secondary Sources

• Primary Sources are first hand accounts of an incident, an experiment, a time in history.  Examples include;
  • An autobiography of a person's life.
  • The Constitution of the United States
  • Letters home from soldiers in the Vietnam War
  • A newspaper article recounting 9/11 events by a journalist who witnessed 9/11
  • A summary of an experiment by the people who conducted the experiment
  • A audio copy of a "Fireside Chat" by President Roosevelt
  • An interview of an eyewitness on a television newscast
• Secondary Sources are articles or accounts of events that have been written or compiled from facts often gleamed from primary sources.  These sources often analyze and interpret the original information and are the auhtors personal interpretation of the original events or information.  Examples include;
  • A biography of a person's life
  • A book written about the causes of the Vietnam War
  • A news broadcast discussing Global Warming
  •  A book discussing the pros and cons of genetically modified foods
  • Any article or book discussing someone else's works

Journals vs. Magazines

• Journals are scholarly magazines written by experts in their field and often based on research work.  They are published less frequently than a magazine and have been reviewed by experts in the field for validity before being published.  They rarely include any kind of advertising in the journal and any pictures and graphs included in the articles are included to help interpret the research findings.  Examples of journals are;
  • Hospital Pediatrics
  • Journal of Abnormal Psychology
  • Harvard Law Review
• Magazines main intent is to entertain its readers.  They are written in easy to read language and contains very little professional jargon.  Magazines will have shorter articles that are infused with pictures and advertisements.  Experts with degrees may write the articles but the articles are based more on common interest than on a research study.  Examples of magazines are;
  • Parents
  • Psychology Today
  • History Today

Preventing Plagiarism

Plagiarism is the act of taking someone else's words, ideas, photographs, music, etc., and using them as if they were their own.  Many students unknowingly plagiarize other people's works by not properly paraphrasing or citing their sources.  Below are some guidelines.

Direct Quotes vs Paraphrasing

• Direct Quotes are when you take an author's work and use it exactly as it appears in publication (word by word, a picture, lyrics).  To prevent plagiarism you must use a parenthetical citation (put quotation marks around the text being cited and include the author's last name and page number where the text appeared)
• Paraphrasing occurs when you use parts of an author's information and cite it correctly but then you add your own interpretation of the source and build on it based on your knowledge base.  (see https://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/QPA_paraphrase.html  for a great example)

Citing your Sources - when creating your bibliography you will always need the following information:

• Author
• Title of the Work
• Title of the Larger Body of work-ex., when citing a page of a website you will cite the home page of the website as the larger body of work
• Other contributors-ie; co-authors
• Version-special version or edition
• Number-the volume and issue number
• Publisher
• Publication date
• Place of Publication

Great Sources for Citation Information

• Owl Purdue Online Writing Lab
• The Writing Center University of Wisconsin Madison
• MLA Style Center: Works Cited a Quick Guide

Use Noodletools to create a works cited page as you find you resources!

Remember to use the DOI (Digital Object Identifier), the Permalink, or the Persistent Link when copying the link location. These can be found in the article itself (on the side of the article, top of the article, or at the bottom of the article.)  Do no use the web address located in the address bar.